RSS

In Sickness and In Help…

09 Sep

File this under sad.

You help people sometimes knowing that your help will not really solve their problem, but you just cannot help more because you have yourself and your own family to look out for too.

I think it is a sad reality.

It made me asked myself.

How much help is enough help?

What is sadder? 

Knowing that at a moment when those people needs help the most, there are people too out there trying to make a buck for it!

The other day, someone I knew a story of, was so sick the night before but no one in her family brought her to the hospital because of financial difficulties. Not until a friendly neighbor to whom she always confided her problems and her long endured sickness visited her that lead to her finally, be brought to the hospital.

As her friend was urgently looking for a car, she went to the nearest neighbor, but after hearing why the need of a transportation, instead of rushing in to help, what followed next was negotiations of how much she would be paid and who would pay for it. 

Anyway, she is confined in the hospital now where she is being given medical attention, and hopefully God willing she will recover soon enough and her family will eventually find all the resources they need.

Knowing this first-hand made me just sad.

While I don’t really knew her personally, she was someone my in-laws family gave rice to each time she goes to the house and needed it, and lends some small sum of money without thinking of her ever repaying it.

While I do not know her family and they might have more important reasons that is beyond my limited comprehension and I am not in a way questioning them, I do not know if I can fathom me watching my loved ones suffer while I stay inside the house being fully aware of it and not doing anything about it.

I am not sure but this I think is just sad for everybody involved. 

Sad for those who really want to help but just cannot help enough, for the family who had a sick loved one, and a sad reality that things like this is really happening around us.

If there is any winner coming out of this, is that her neighbor made a buck, be damned all, which I think is another level of sadness all by itself for whatever reason.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on September 9, 2011 in Random Thoughts

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “In Sickness and In Help…

  1. Sean Kidd

    September 13, 2011 at 16:24

    it is what it is

     
  2. tappytap09

    September 17, 2011 at 03:14

    theres no limit in helping but true enough sometimes eventhough we want to help, unfortunately we cant help 😦 but here’s what i think i know that i have helped not finnacially though but sometimes the one we helped think that I didnt help at all…I guess humans are born that way, they will only acknowledge your help if you have helped them financially…sad but true 😦

     
    • Gboi

      September 17, 2011 at 12:43

      so true…

       

Leave a comment